High School District 211 announces that 31 students have been named semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Competition.

Semifinalists are selected based on scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (P.S.A.T./N.M.S.Q.T.).

William Fremd High School students Abhinav R. Balu, Kevin Chen, Varun Cidambi, Bissmun Gill, Matthew C. Grabianski, Kailey G. Henson, Stephanie X. Hu, Jesse Huang, Kashif Javid, Edward W. Li, Anna J. Miller, Allison M. Nakazawa, Adhith Palla, Nicholas L. Parekh, Elizabeth D. Perez, Andrew L. Ruan, Lauren P. Streitmatter, and Jerry Zheng have been named semifinalists.

Anubhav Agarwal, Adithya S. Chari, Annika K. Lafyatis, Bianca Saputra, Nitinshankar Subramanian, Sarah R. Yamaguchi, and Allison L. Zhang from James B. Conant High School have been named semifinalists.

The semifinalists from Hoffman Estates High School are Ryohei Namiki, Megha Ramanathan, and Shashank Sandu.

Schaumburg High School’s semifinalists are Lisa N. Bonatz and Edwin J. Suresh.

Bhargav Yadavalli is the semifinalist from Palatine High School.

For more information, see the release from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

18 District 211 Students Named 2015 National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Township High School District 211 has 18 students that were named finalists in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Competition. Judges will determine winners based on which finalists have the strongest combination of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. Roughly 7,600 students across the nation will be awarded scholarships.

Conant High School

Mohansrinivas Chennakesavalu

Kevin Z. Hong

Glenn J. Huang


Fremd High School

Justine Chee

Nathan Cornwell

Soumyaa Mazumder

Ellen Ni

Walter Panfil

Sanjana Shah

Jeemin Sim

Jennie Yang


Schaumburg High School

Sarah Bier

Deepthi Suresh

Melissa Tran


Palatine High School

Kara M. Burton

Lisa M. Kehe

Lawson B. Kosulic

Lily Y. Zahn