D211 National Merit Scholars


High School District 211 has 20 students that were awarded prestigious National Merit Scholarships for their outstanding academic and extracurricular accomplishments.

Scholarships are based off of corporate-sponsored awards financed by roughly 200 corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations. To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, semifinalists had to fulfill requirements to advance to finalist standing, including high test scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test, or PSAT.

Each semifinalist was asked to complete a detailed scholarship application, which included writing an essay and providing information about extracurricular activities, awards, and leadership positions. Semifinalists also had to have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, and earn SAT scores that confirmed their qualifying test performance.

Judges determine winners based on which finalists have the strongest combination of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Most of these awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university of their choice.

District 211’s National Merit Scholars are:
Avni A. Bavishi, Hoffman Estates High School;
Kenneth A. Bourgon, Fremd High School;
Amir R. Djavid, Fremd High School;
Ryan A. Erdmann, Palatine High School;
Michael J. Feldmann, Fremd High School;
John B. Haugh, Fremd High School;
Annie Huang, Fremd High School;
Sophie Huang, Conant High School;
Jeanne M. Kaliski, Palatine High School;
Mark C. Koren, Fremd High School;
Kritika Kulkarni, Conant High School;
Jiayu Liang, Fremd High School;
Emily G. Liquin, Palatine High School;
Mengran Liu, Hoffman Estates High School;
Aamani Paturi, Fremd High School;
William Shih, Fremd High School;
Andrew B. Song, Fremd High School;
Jonathan S. Stoller-Schoff, Fremd High School;
Serena M. Taj, Conant High School; and
Rebecca L.J. Wight, Fremd High School.

For more information on the scholarship program, visit the organization’s website.