D211’s Three Golden Apple Scholars


For high school students aspiring to be teachers in the future, there is one distinction many of them hope to receive — to be a part of the Golden Apple Scholars Foundation.

Lizbeth Arreola of Palatine High School, Jae Eun Ship and Maya Lane of James B. Conant High School, were selected as Golden Apple Scholars for the Illinois Class of 2012. They were chosen from more than 1,200 nominees this year.

Golden Apple Scholars of Illinois is a competitive program that seeks the best Illinois youth interested in a teaching career. Those selected receive advanced teacher preparation through four summer institutes that give them early practice and exposure to the art of teaching, as well as financial assistance for college. For freshman and sophomore year of college, students receive a $2,500 scholarship toward tuition per year. Junior and senior year they will receive $5,000 per year.

There are restrictions in order to maintain the scholarship. Golden Apple Scholars must earn a bachelor’s degree at one of 53 Illinois universities that participate in the program, obtain Illinois teacher certification, and teach for five years in an Illinois school of need. Scholars also must meet G.P.A. requirements, participate in Summer Institutes, and comply with a code of conduct while in the program. As long as they maintain those requirements, they will receive tuition assistance. They also receive a $2,000 stipend for each summer institute they attend.

Arreola, who is planning to attend Eastern Illinois University to become a mathematics and Spanish teacher, said she is honored to have received a Golden Apple Scholarship. She said she always knew she wanted to be a teacher and feels like it’s going to open a lot of doors for her.

“I am more aware of how much we need teachers who are willing to do anything in order for students to succeed, and that is what I want to do,” Arreola said. “I just want to be able to reach out and work with every kind of student.”

Students were honored at a reception celebrating the Class of 2012 Scholars on May 12 at DePaul University’s Lincoln Park Campus. They also were recognized for their achievements by the District 211 Board of Education at its May 24 meeting.

For more information about the Golden Apple Foundation, visit its website here.

Lisbeth Arreola

Lisbeth Arreola

Jae Eun Shin

Jae Eun Shin

maya lane

Maya Lane