D211 Post: New principal named at Fremd High School

At its February 18, 2021 meeting, the High School District 211 Board of Education approved the appointment of Mark Langer as principal at William Fremd High School, effective July 1, 2021. 

Mark Langer has been named as the new principal for Fremd High School.

Mr. Langer, currently assistant principal at James B. Conant High School, will take over the principalship from Kurt Tenopir, who will move into his new role as assistant superintendent for administrative services on July 1st, following seven years as principal at Fremd High School.

Mr. Langer began his teaching career as a science teacher at Palatine High School in 2003.  He was named the school’s dean of students for the 2011-2012 school year.  He served as 10-month assistant principal at Conant High School for the 2013-2014 school year, and then returned to Palatine High School as 10-month assistant principal for the 2014-2015 school year.  Mr. Langer was named 12-month assistant principal for discipline at Conant High School, serving in that capacity from 2015-2017, and was promoted to his current position as 12-month assistant principal for buildings & grounds and activity director in 2017.

“Mark Langer is a dedicated and thoughtful leader who embraces new opportunities allowing for every student to excel,” said Superintendent Lisa Small.  “He partners with students, staff, and parents to gain the perspective of all stakeholders as he ensures a positive impact on a school.  His reflective nature, open-minded leadership style, and dedication to excellence is a great match for the William Fremd High School community.”

Mr. Langer graduated from the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana in 1999 with a bachelor’s degree in food sciences and human nutrition.  He earned his master’s degree in secondary education from National Louis University in 2003, and earned a second master’s degree in educational administration from Northern Illinois University in 2011.  In 2019, Mr. Langer was recognized by the Illinois State Board of Education with a Those Who Excel award in the School Administrator category.

D211 Post: Hoffman Estates Teacher Named Illinois Special Education Teacher of the Year

            Hoffman Estates High School Special Education teacher Katie McGarvey has been named the 2021 Illinois Special Education Teacher of the Year.  McGarvey was told of her selection during a meeting between with Principal Michael Alther, District 211 Superintendent Dr. Lisa Small, and representatives from the Illinois State Board of Education September 21.  

As part of this year’s Teacher of the Year program, the Illinois State Board of Education added three new categories including Bilingual Teacher of the Year, Early Childhood Teacher of the Year, and Special Education Teacher of the year.   With these additions, McGarvey became the state’s first Special Education Teacher of the Year recipient. 

              McGarvey said she was shocked when she was notified that she had been selected. 

            “I am so honored to have been selected,” McGarvey said.  “This was incredibly unexpected.  I am glad to have the opportunity to represent Hoffman Estates and District 211.”

            Hoffman Estates High School Special Education Chair Colleen Little said she was glad to see McGarvey’s hard work recognized.

            “Katie is all about service to others,” Little said.  “It’s been great to see her in action and to see her recognized.”

            McGarvey has been a teacher at Hoffman Estates High School for the past three years.  She said she hopes to continue to grow as a teacher.

            “For me, students come first,” she said.  “I love seeing them every day, which drives my passion for this job.  I hope to use that passion to continue to grow in a way that can always help the students.”

            With the announcement of her selection of Special Education Teacher of the Year, McGarvey joins a list of previous District 211 Teacher of the Year recipients Bob Grimm (2001, Fremd High School Science Teacher), Brian Curtin (2012 Schaumburg High School English Teacher), and Steve Elza (2014 Fremd High School Applied Technology Teacher).  McGarvey is a graduate of Palatine High School and received her Bachelor’s in Special Education from Loyola University Chicago.

D211 Post: High School District 211 to be represented among I.S.B.E. 2018 Those Who Excel award recipients

Township High School District 211 is poised to be well-represented among recipients in the Illinois State Board of Education’s 2018 Those Who Excel education awards program.  Additionally, Fremd High School Social Studies Teacher Dr. LoriAnne Frieri has been named among the 10 finalists for Illinois Teacher of the Year.  The State Board annually sponsors the Those Who Excel awards to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to the state’s public and non-public schools.

High School District 211 Those Who Excel award candidates include (listed alphabetically):

• Board of Education President Mucia Burke (school board member category)

• Schaumburg High School Student Services Director Yassila Delgado (administrator category)

• William Fremd High School Social Studies Teacher LoriAnne Frieri (classroom teacher category)

• Palatine High School Homeroom Team (team category): Jessica Aulisio, Brittany Berleman, Jeanne Hedgepeth, Erin Lu-zadder, Erin Mahoney, Thomas Mocon, James Nowak, Fred Rasmussen, Joyce Richardson, Leslie Schock, and Claudia Sierra-Sokop

• Palatine High School Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Emily Pilguy (early career educator category)

• James B. Conant High School Nurse Dawna Smeltzer (student support personnel category)

• Hoffman Estates High School Counselor Andrew Wulbecker (educational service personnel category)

The Illinois Teacher of the Year will be named and Those Who Excel award recipients will be honored by the Illinois State Board of Education at the 44th-annual Those Who Excel awards banquet on Saturday, October 20, in Normal, Ill.